Learning to ride the waves

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

There’s no crying in the Kitchen!

It’s dog work she say’s to me, as my eyes begin to fill with water. I look down at my hands that look like they have aged three years, since I started working in this kitchen three months ago. My hands are calloused, and dry it’s not a pretty sight. As I peel potatoes I stand there and try not to cry. I can’t cry in the kitchen, I can’t just burst out into tears in front of these people. I have to pull it together, and man the hell up. But on the inside my heart felt calloused, and I wanted to cry. I started to think about things that I have become very attached to and had to let go of. I missed my Dad so much and things kept reminding me of him. How I wish I could just see him again. I was feeling very defeated and lonely. I had a dream the night before that I was stuck in my apartment building when the zombies had invaded the city and there was no one for me to turn too, just me. I woke up in a fog, as the night before I had been thinking about someone else that I was very attached to but had to let go of. So my day in the kitchen was not going that well, fueled with emotions, I began to let little things get to me. I wasn’t sure if anyone was happy today, it didn’t seem like it to me, maybe just through my watery eyes that is the way it looked. I began to wonder about a lot of things as I usually do. Everyone looked stressed and overworked no one was smiling, we all seemed drained of our resources. I couldn’t help but to let my brain take the front seat and start telling me you can’t do this, you’ll never make it, your a women in a man’s world, it’s to hard, just give up, it’s to much work, BLAH BLAH BLAH it wouldn’t stop! Work was coming to an end as I finished cutting mushrooms, cleaning and moping the floors. I said goodbye to everyone with a big smile on my face hoping that would encourage them to come back in the morning with a smile. Who was I kidding I got into my car and began to cry. I thought about all the things I don’t have and all the things that stress me out… it just all came down. Sometimes I miss having someone to tell about my day, to share with them what’s going on, and talk about things, it feels lonely at times. But anyways I drove home thinking work… awwww this was never work for me. Yes it is hard and demanding, but it is very rewarding it brings me joy. I would do it for free don’t pay me, just let me do it, I don’t care I love it. It was never work for me, and I have to remind myself of that. Some days are very challenging. I didn’t cry in the kitchen, not today.

One comment on “There’s no crying in the Kitchen!

  1. Your Doom
    February 10, 2014

    Sorry you had a bad day 😦

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
